Descriptions of places that no longer exist.
Sevastopol, a small settlement in a narrow coulee at the upstream end of Lake Pepin, began as a convenient place to build taverns for lumbermen in the area. The village was platted in 1857 by three men who didn't live there: John Elder, Hugh Adams, and GJ Richards. They probably snatched the name from a play called
Maybe a couple of these guys were named Jim, too Jimtown, located near Illinois City, was so named because a lot of guys named Jim lived there (or so the story goes). Most of the men, regardless of their name, worked at a nearby coal mine. It was a tough place full of
Bealieu House, Crow Wing State Park Crow Wing village was located along the Mississippi River at the mouth of the Crow Wing River. For centuries, the Ojibwe and Dakota Indians frequented the area for its abundant game. The village eventually grew into the primary commercial center for central Minnesota by the mid-1800s. Crow Wing began as a post for the fur trade.
Once upon a time, a village named Sinipi was here The flat path along the backwaters at today's Fenley State Recreation Area was originally one of the main streets for the town of Sinnippi (a word that apparently means "lead ore" in an unspecified Native American language). The town was settled in 1831 by
History Vacation home on Geneva Island Founded in 1836 by Dr. Eli Reynolds and Harvey Gillett about three miles upriver from Muscatine, the village of Geneva was very nearly the county seat of Muscatine County. It was, in fact, designated as such by the Wisconsin Territorial legislature in 1837, but the bill was