Mississippi River towns in Illinois

Pleasant Hill

Population (2010) 966 History Brothers Belus and Egbert Jones were among the first Europeans to move into this part of the county, arriving in 1821 when Many Native Americans still lived in the area. They built a log cabin about four miles southeast of where Pleasant Hill is today and opened the county’s first tavern.

By | February 13th, 2016|Illinois|0 Comments

Pike Station

Pike Station sprung up near the foot of the Champ Clark Bridge that connects Louisiana, Missouri with rural Illinois,  a small community that is even smaller today than it used to be. The first bridge crossed here in 1873; the Champ Clark Bridge opened in 1928. Before there was a bridge, there was a ferry crossing

By | February 12th, 2016|Illinois|0 Comments


Atlas is the oldest community in Pike County, founded in 1823 by Colonel William Ross, the same year it was chosen as the county seat, which was also the same year its fortunes peaked. The Ross family arrived here from Pittsfield, Massachusetts in 1820 and ended up building their homes about where the village of

By | February 11th, 2016|Illinois|0 Comments


Pike County’s first European resident, Ebenezer Franklin, built a home near present-day Rockport in 1820. For a while the area was known as Pecan Grove, because, well, there were a lot of pecan trees nearby. It’s hard to imagine today, but Rockport was once a busy place, thanks to milling and water access that has

By | February 10th, 2016|Illinois|0 Comments

New Canton

Population (2010) 359 History Quincy founders John Wood and Willard Keyes pitched tents in this area when they first arrived from the East, but Charles T. Brewster, Hiram Smith, and Jesse Tittsworth get credited for starting the village in 1835. The government sold land in the township for $1.25 an acre; many early residents raised

By | February 8th, 2016|Illinois|0 Comments


Population (2010) 216 History In 1836, Chester Churchill and Bridge Whitten, natives of New York, founded the village of Kinderhook. The village grew along and below a short bluff, an area that once had many American Indian mounds. It grew into a stable small town pretty quickly, with several stores, a blacksmith, a flour mill, a post

By | February 7th, 2016|Illinois|0 Comments