Waukon Junction

History
When a railroad spur was built in 1877 to connect the tracks along the Mississippi River with Waukon, Iowa, this area was transformed from wilderness into, well, something just a little less wild. The community that grew around the spur was first called Adams Junction, in honor of the president of the Waukon Railroad, D.W. Adams. After the tracks were laid, a few houses were built, a post office was established, and the name of the village was changed to Waukon Junction. A hotel went up where you could get two meals and a bed for $1.35. The hotel burned down in the 1920s and was not rebuilt; by the mid-1940s, Waukon Junction was no longer a rail stop and the track to Waukon abandoned; part of it is now a hiking trail through Yellow River State Forest.

Waukon Junction is included in these products: 

[product id=”3420″] [product id=”3195″]

Heading upriver? Check out Harpers Ferry.

Heading downriver? Check out Effigy Mounds National Monument.

© Dean Klinkenberg, 2009

By | 2016-10-21T15:29:23+00:00 October 4th, 2009|Iowa|0 Comments

About the Author:

Dean Klinkenberg, the Mississippi Valley Traveler, is on a mission to explore the rich history, diverse cultures, and varied ecosystems of the Mississippi River Valley, from the Headwaters in northern Minnesota to the Gulf of Mexico. He is the author of Rock Island Lines, a mystery, and several guidebooks for the Mississippi Valley.

Leave A Comment