Seehorn

The village of Seehorn had a road connection to Shepherd in the early years; the road was nicknamed Corduroy Road because of the number of poles laid across mud holes that made the trip a little more likely to be completed. Seehorn was later a stop along the 1920s-era Pikes Peak Ocean to Ocean Highway

By |2016-02-01T10:19:21-05:00February 2nd, 2016|Illinois|Comments Off on Seehorn

Marblehead

Population (2010) Unincorporated Visitor Information Get your questions answered from the folks at the Pike County Chamber of Commerce (217.285.2971). History Marblehead is a small village south of Quincy along Mill Creek. Michael Mast, John Coffman, and Stephen Thomas platted the village in 1835. John Thomas was

By |2024-05-26T14:04:19-05:00February 1st, 2016|Illinois|Comments Off on Marblehead

Quincy

Population (2010) 40,633 Introduction Nicknamed “Gem City of the West” for its outstanding collection of architecture, Quincy is a friendly place to visit with several attractions that are worth taking time to explore. The original city center is bouncing back and new restaurants are bringing a fresh approach to dining. Stick around

By |2025-01-29T08:49:47-05:00January 31st, 2016|Illinois|Comments Off on Quincy

Ursa

Population (2010) 626 History Richard M. Johnson is credited with coming up with the name Ursa but for reasons no one knows; it is the only place in the US that is called Ursa. Sure, some people called the area Bear Creek before 1850, and Ursa is apparently Latin for

By |2024-05-26T13:50:18-05:00November 19th, 2015|Illinois|Comments Off on Ursa
Go to Top