fbpx

Descriptions of places that no longer exist.

Milan Illinois

Although the Quad Cities region today includes a city named Milan, there was an earlier town of the same name in a different location. The first Milan was platted in 1837 into 30 blocks and adjoined the village of Hampton, which was platted a year later. This Milan included the area once known as Well's Ferry; Block #1 was the

By |2016-10-21T15:29:30-05:00May 2nd, 2009|Ghost Towns|0 Comments

McNeal’s Landing Illinois

Henry McNeal, courtesy of Rock Island County Historical Society Canadian Henry McNeal and Kentuckian Joel Thomspon arrived in the winter of 1827-1828. They settled on land next to the Mississippi River in an area that was technically off-limits at that time, which technically made them squatters. McNeal built a cabin where the Village of Hampton's Soldier’s Memorial

By |2016-10-21T15:29:30-05:00April 19th, 2009|Ghost Towns|0 Comments

Well’s Ferry Illinois

Lucius Wells In 1827, Lucius Wells built a cabin about a mile north of where Henry McNeal would settle in the following year. Wells  began ferry service to Iowa in 1829; his horse-powered boat had room for two teams of horses and two wagons. Lucius also built a sawmill a couple of years later. The

By |2016-10-21T15:29:30-05:00April 19th, 2009|Ghost Towns|0 Comments

Saukenuk

The Sauk and Mesquakie nations trace their roots to northeast Canada. Both nations were composed of Algonquin speakers who lived in stable villages; members frequently intermarried. Because of land pressure from advancing European settlements that sent them searching for new hunting grounds and a series of lost battles with the Iroquois, the Sauk and Mesquakie had little choice

By |2016-10-21T15:29:31-05:00April 16th, 2009|Ghost Towns|0 Comments

Rock Island City Illinois

More than twenty towns sprang up along the Mississippi River in the first seven years after the end of the Black Hawk War; many disappeared as quickly as they were planned. In one case, a group of investors platted Rock Island City near the site of Saukenuk, purchasing six hundred acres from George Davenport for the

By |2016-10-21T15:29:31-05:00April 16th, 2009|Ghost Towns|0 Comments